Case study: ARTDECO

Achieving high Google rankings with quality translation and internationally suitable keywords

The global cosmetics and body care industry has been booming for many years, and the outlook remains positive. In addition to the industry’s big hitters like L’Oréal and Beiersdorf, start-ups and smaller companies are rapidly gaining ground – particularly in relation to ecommerce. If you want to win through in this fast-moving market and play a decisive role, it’s essential to adopt digital strategies and keep an eye on current market developments.

The cosmetics producer ARTDECO is a German retail market leader and has already established itself in the world of online trading. As the company planned its international website roll-out, ARTDECO relied on Kolibri Online for SEO translations and keyword research to enhance its visibility on Google and other search engines in international target markets and to respond to the search behaviour of target groups worldwide.

The international website of cosmetics manufacturer ARTDECO

Services provided by Kolibri for ARTDECO’s international website roll-out

  • SEO translations into English (US), Spanish, French, Italian & Norwegian
  • Assembling a fixed translation team
  • Creating a glossary
  • International keyword research
  • Project management
  • Quality management

The company: ARTDECO

Helmut Baurecht founded the cosmetics label ARTDECO in Munich in 1985. In keeping with the idea of offering high-quality cosmetics at an affordable price, he sought to make luxury products accessible to all. Today, the family-run company based in Karlsfeld near Munich is a leader in the German retail market. More than 900 employees work for ARTDECO in its back-office and field-based operations (as of 2020). Meanwhile, customers in around 70 countries enjoy these high-quality cosmetics. You can find ARTDECO products in around 7,500 cosmetics institutes and spas, 7,500 perfumeries, 300 leading department stores and 60 duty-free shops all around the world. In addition, ARTDECO has an online shop with a wide product range and helpful makeup tips.

The challenge: Translations with SEO requirements

Since 2014, ARTDECO has operated its own online shop, integrated into the company’s German website. ARTDECO uses the shop to sell its high-quality products – from mascaras to concealers. It also regularly posts makeup tips focused on important keywords for the company’s target group, such as “smokey eyes”, “longer lashes” and “wedding makeup”.

As the company turned its attention to the international roll-out of its German website, ARTDECO sought a translation agency capable of covering a wide range of languages and offering considerable expertise in the field of search engine optimisation (SEO). ARTDECO’s entire German website had been extensively revised and optimised with regard to keywords, topics and text content for Google and other search engines – applying these considerations to international copy was of paramount importance so that past work was not lost. The highly competitive environment of online cosmetics retail calls for a professional SEO strategy to ensure that a website ranks in the top positions on Google and other search engines – both nationally and internationally.

A further challenge lay in the fact that the initial translations were to be produced before the German site was officially relaunched, which meant that the source texts would not be accessible online.

The international website of cosmetics manufacturer ARTDECO

Challenges in a nutshell

  • Providing high-quality translations with language perfectly tailored to the target audience
  • Ensuring that SEO review of source texts is retained in translation
  • Starting translation process before German site had been relaunched
  • Carrying out proofreading and reviews directly in CMS
  • Providing translations of product texts continually on a day-to-day basis

The customer’s experience of working with Kolibri Online:

“We appreciate the highly professional and exceedingly well-structured collaboration with Kolibri Online. On a project as large as relaunching the ARTDECO website in six languages and across nine different countries, it was important that we had an agency by our side capable of providing high-quality, SEO translations for each language from a single source. With their years of expertise, Kolibri helped us to make the right SEO-specific decisions for our respective local markets.”

Alexandra Postrach

Project Manager, ARTDECO Website Relaunch

ARTDECO logo

ARTDECO cosmetic GmbH

The solution: High-quality SEO translations for the cosmetics industry

ARTDECO’s desired combination of search engine optimisation and high-quality translation was a top priority for the international website roll-out. In an initial consultation and test translation, Kolibri Online impressed ARTDECO with the quality of our translations and the vital importance of international keyword research for each target language. Thanks to the wide range of over 25 languages we cover and our network of SEO-trained translators and project managers, we successfully met all of our client’s requirements. By the end of 2020, Kolibri Online had translated ARTDECO product texts, category texts and makeup tips – including all metadata – into English and Spanish. There are plans to do the same for French, Italian, Norwegian and other languages.

Test translation and set-up phase

At the start of the project, Kolibri project managers held preliminary meetings with ARTDECO to discuss all key information regarding the target audience, tone and workflow for the requested translations. Following this, Kolibri Online assembled a fixed translation team with knowledge of the cosmetics industry and SEO expertise, ensuring that all team members were intimately familiar with the client’s wishes and requirements.

The translators then produced a test translation which was followed by an intensive feedback round discussing content, style and SEO with SEO. Thanks to our expertise in the field of SEO, we were able to provide useful pointers at this early stage and illustrate why additional international keyword research for each language would be beneficial and ultimately necessary.

We then integrated the results of the feedback into our briefings and passed this information on to the translation team. This ensured that these insights were applied in future translations.

The international website of cosmetics manufacturer ARTDECO
The international website of cosmetics manufacturer ARTDECO

Creating a glossary

Compiling a good glossary (also known as a terminology list or termbase) is an important step at the start of a translation project. Kolibri Online worked closely with ARTDECO to create a glossary for each target language for the translations, detailing specific considerations and notation styles for corporate and brand terminology, industry-specific terms and instructions for SEO keywords. This meant that our translators and proofreaders and native speakers of the various target languages at ARTDECO always had a document to refer to if they were unsure about anything. In addition, we input the glossary into the CAT tool used for translation, which ensured the use of correct terminology in all texts.

International keyword research

The ARTDECO website had already been revised based on a local keyword set, with the German source texts optimised to incorporate suitable keywords. However, the same term can return entirely different search volumes in different countries, which means that translating keywords directly is often not the best solution. It is therefore better to identify suitable keywords through international keyword research before starting the translation stage.

Our native-language translators conducted tool-based keyword research for each language and incorporated the results in their translations for ARTDECO. In the case of the English translations, for example, this research yielded a series of key insights.

  • When translated literally, the German keyword “Business Make-up” (written “business makeup” in US English) has a monthly search volume of 270. However, the term “office makeup” is searched around 340 times per month, which makes it a more suitable keyword in English translations.
  • One key search term was “Tages Make-up”. Our team decided to translate this as “simple makeup” (search volume: 4,100) instead of “everyday makeup” (search volume: 1,700) due to its higher search volume, but also because it fits the search intent more closely.
  • “Urlaubs Make-up” was translated as “travel makeup” (search volume: 1,000) rather than directly as “holiday makeup” (search volume: 1,100) as the latter English term relates to festive makeup in the USA – and because another alternative, “vacation makeup” (search volume: 70) is a rarely searched term.

These are just a few examples to illustrate how international keyword research can define search terms that address search intents more effectively and have higher search volumes. Our team was then able to integrate these terms into the translations.

Excerpt from the results of international keyword research for ARTDECO

Tool-based international keyword research by native-speaker translators produced vital insights regarding suitable search terms.

High-quality SEO translations and streamlined workflows

Kolibri Online assembled a team of translators who are native speakers in each target language selected by ARTDECO. These translators all had knowledge of the cosmetics industry and SEO expertise, which resulted in high-quality translations tailored to the target audience. In addition, Kolibri Online always applies the four-eye principle in its translation processes. This means that a translator who is a native speaker of the target language translates the text, which is then reviewed by a second native speaker. This means that two sets of eyes – four eyes in total – always look over a translation.

Kolibri Online always uses databases in translation projects and selects suitable tools based on each client’s wishes and requirements. In our work for ARTDECO, we worked with the online version of the CAT (computer-assisted translation) tool memoQ. This ensured that files were handled smoothly and guaranteed consistent and up-to-date use of terminology. The fact that the tool is web-based means that its translation memories always contain the latest entries.

As the optimised German pages were still not online at the start of the translation project, our translators were given access to the new texts in a staging environment. This allowed them to get a better feel for the texts and see the accompanying images. This context is a key precondition of successful translation.

Once the site was relaunched, we reviewed all buttons, headlines and short teasers in the CMS backend – a tried-and-tested process at Kolibri Online that helps to streamline workflows for our clients.

The result: High-quality SEO copy for the cosmetics industry

Thanks to in-depth, tool-based keyword research for each language, standardised processes and a team of native-speaker translators with SEO and industry expertise, we produced and implemented texts for ARTDECO’s international websites on schedule. ARTDECO had asked us to incorporate the SEO-based changes to the German source texts into the translations – and we were able to fulfil this request. In addition, a fixed contact at Kolibri oversaw the entire project, acting as a key link between ARTDECO and the translation team to ensure quality, select appropriate tools and control day-to-day activities.
Are you looking for a content agency for your next project? Maybe you have questions about developing long-term content marketing strategies or how to implement high-quality, SEO-compliant online content in practice. We’d be happy to talk it over with you. Call us on +49 40 5247774-0 or email us at  info@kolibri.online.

About the author

Jana Finklenburg
Project Manager and Content Marketing Editor
+49 40 5247774-22
j.finklenburg@kolibri.online

Kolibri Online GmbH
Bernstorffstrasse 128
D-22767 Hamburg

Case Study ARTDECO

Mit Übersetzungsqualität und internationalen passenden Keywords zu hohen Google-Rankings

Die weltweite Kosmetik- und Körperpflegebranche boomt seit vielen Jahren und auch die Prognosen sehen weiterhin gut aus. Neben den großen Platzhirschen der Branche wie L’Oréal und Beiersdorf, holen Start-ups und kleinere Unternehmen schnell auf – vor allem im Bereich E-Commerce. Wer sich auf diesem rasant entwickelnden Markt durchsetzen und eine entscheidende Rolle spielen möchte, setzt auf digitale Strategien und behält aktuelle Marktentwicklungen im Blick.

Der Kosmetikhersteller ARTDECO ist im deutschen Fachhandel Marktführer und auch bereits im Onlinehandel fest etabliert. Für den internationalen Website-Roll-out des Unternehmens setzte ARTDECO auf SEO-Übersetzungen und Keyword-Recherchen von Kolibri Online, um so die Sichtbarkeit bei Google und Co auch in den internationalen Zielmärkten zu steigern und das Suchverhalten der Zielgruppe weltweit zu berücksichtigen.

Die internationale Website des Kosmetikherstellers ARTDECO

Leistungen von Kolibri für den internationalen Website-Roll-out von ARTDECO

  • SEO-Übersetzungen für die Sprachen Englisch (US), Spanisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Norwegisch
  • Zusammenstellung eines festen Übersetzungs-Teams
  • Glossarerstellung
  • Internationale Keyword-Recherche
  • Projektmanagement
  • Qualitätsmanagement

Das Unternehmen: ARTDECO

Helmut Baurecht gründete 1985 in München das Kosmetiklabel ARTDECO. Gemäß der Idee, hochwertige Kosmetik zu einem erschwinglichen Preis anzubieten, wollte er allen Menschen luxuriöse Produkte zugänglich machen. Heute ist das familiengeführte Unternehmen mit Hauptsitz in Karlsfeld bei München Marktführer im deutschen Fachhandel. Mehr als 900 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter sind für ARTDECO im Innen- und Außendienst tätig (Stand: 2020). Die exklusive Kosmetik begeistert Menschen in rund 70 Ländern. Erhältlich ist ARTDECO mittlerweile in etwa 7 500 Kosmetikinstituten und Spas, 7 500 Parfümerien, 300 führenden Kaufhäusern und 60 Duty-Free-Shops überall auf der Welt. Darüber hinaus betreibt ARTDECO einen Onlineshop mit großer Produktpalette und hilfreichen Schminktipps.

Die Herausforderung: Übersetzungen mit SEO-Anspruch

ARTDECO betreibt bereits seit 2014 einen eigenen Onlineshop, der in die deutsche Website des Unternehmens integriert ist. Über den Shop vertreibt ARTDECO seine hochwertigen Produkte – von Mascara bis Concealer. Zusätzlich veröffentlicht das Unternehmen auf der Seite regelmäßig Schminktipps zu wichtigen Keywords wie „Smokey Eyes schminken“, „Wimpern verlängern“ oder „Braut Make-Up“ für die Zielgruppe.

Für den internationalen Roll-out der deutschen Seite suchte ARTDECO eine Übersetzungsagentur, die sowohl eine große Bandbreite an Sprachen abdeckt als auch im Bereich Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO) große Expertise aufweist. Denn: Die gesamte deutsche Seite wurde vor dem Roll-out von ARTDECO umfassend hinsichtlich Keywords, Themen und Texte für Google und Co optimiert – und diese Arbeit sollte natürlich auch in den internationalen Texten berücksichtigt werden und nicht verloren gehen. Im umkämpften Markt des Kosmetik-Onlinehandels bedarf es einer professionellen SEO-Strategie, um bei Google und Co auf den vordersten Plätzen ausgespielt zu werden – national sowie international.

Eine zusätzliche Herausforderung: Die ersten Übersetzungen sollten noch vor dem offiziellen Relaunch der deutschen Seite angefertigt werden – die Ausgangstexte waren damit noch nicht online einsehbar.

Die internationale Website des Kosmetikherstellers ARTDECO

Herausforderungen in a nutshell

  • Anspruchsvolle Übersetzungen mit perfektem Sprachfit für die Zielgruppe
  • SEO-Optimierung der Ausgangstexte bei der Übersetzung sichern
  • Relaunch der deutschen Seite bei Übersetzungsstart noch nicht abgeschlossen
  • Korrekturen direkt im CMS vornehmen
  • Kontinuierliche Übersetzungen von Produkttexten im Tagesgeschäft

Kundenerfahrungen mit Kolibri Online:

„Wir schätzen die sehr professionelle und überaus strukturierte Zusammenarbeit mit Kolibri Online. Gerade bei einem derart großen Projekt wie dem Relaunch der ARTDECO-Website in sechs Sprachen und neun verschiedenen Ländern war es uns wichtig, eine Agentur an unserer Seite zu haben, die uns sowohl hochqualitative als auch auf die jeweilige Sprache SEO-optimierte Übersetzungen aus einer Hand liefern kann. Mit seiner langjährigen Erfahrung half uns das Kolibri-Online-Team, die richtigen SEO-spezifischen Entscheidungen, angepasst auf die jeweiligen lokalen Märkte, zu treffen.“

Alexandra Postrach

Projektleitung, ARTDECO Website Relaunch

Logo ARTDECO

ARTDECO cosmetic GmbH

Die Lösung: hochwertige SEO-Übersetzungen für die Kosmetikbranche

Die gewünschte Verbindung aus Suchmaschinenoptimierung und hochwertigen Übersetzungen hatte für ARTDECO hohe Priorität beim internationalen Website-Roll-out. Kolibri Online konnte ARTDECO bereits im Beratungsgespräch und der ersten Probeübersetzung von der Übersetzungsqualität sowie der hohen Bedeutung einer internationalen Keyword-Recherche pro Sprache überzeugen. Dank dem großen Angebot an über 25 Sprachen und dem Netzwerk an SEO geschulten Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern sowie Projektmanagerinnen und Projektmanagern konnten wir die Anforderungen des Kunden voll erfüllen. Kolibri Online hat bis Ende 2020 für ARTDECO Produkttexte, Kategorietexte sowie Schminktipps inklusive aller Metadaten in die Sprachen Englisch und Spanisch übersetzt. Französisch, Italienisch, Norwegisch und weitere Sprachen sind geplant.

Probeübersetzung und Set-up-Phase

Zu Beginn des Projekts wurden in Vorgesprächen zwischen der Kolibri-Projektmanagerin und ARTDECO alle wichtigen Infos zu Zielgruppe, Tonalität und Workflow der gewünschten Übersetzungen besprochen. Kolibri Online stellte daraufhin ein festes Übersetzungs-Team zusammen, das sowohl die Kosmetikbranche kennt als auch SEO-Expertise hat, und machte die Mitglieder ausführlich mit den Anforderungen des Kunden vertraut.

Anschließend fertigten die Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer eine Probeübersetzung an, die in einer intensiven Feedbackschleife hinsichtlich Inhalt, Stil und SEO mit ARTDECO besprochen wurde. Hierbei konnte Kolibri vor allem dank hoher SEO-Expertise bereits wichtige Hinweise geben und verdeutlichen, warum eine zusätzliche internationale Keyword-Recherche pro Sprache sinnvoll und erforderlich ist.

Die Ergebnisse der Feedbackrunde wurden in das Briefing übertragen und an das Übersetzungs-Team weitergeben. So konnten sie für alle weiteren Texte angewendet werden.

Die internationale Website des Kosmetikherstellers ARTDECO
Die internationale Website des Kosmetikherstellers ARTDECO

Glossarerstellung

Zu Beginn eines Übersetzungsprojekts ist die Ausarbeitung eines guten Glossars (auch Terminologieliste genannt) wichtig. Für ARTDECO erstellte Kolibri Online dafür in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden ein Glossar für jede der beauftragten Sprachen, in dem Besonderheiten und Schreibweisen zur Firmen- und Markenterminologie, branchenspezifische Fachbegriffe und Hinweise zu SEO-Keywords festgehalten wurden. So konnten sowohl die Übersetzenden und Korrekturlesenden als auch die muttersprachlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf Kundenseite bei Unsicherheiten immer wieder auf das Dokument zurückgreifen. Zudem wurde das Glossar in das CAT-Tool eingelesen, wodurch die Einhaltung der Terminologie über alle Texte hinweg gesichert wurde.

Internationale Keyword-Recherche

Die Website von ARTDECO wurde bereits auf Grundlage eines lokalen Keyword-Sets erarbeitet, die deutschen Ausgangstexte waren dementsprechend auf bestimmte Keywords optimiert. Allerdings kann derselbe Suchbegriff in verschiedenen Ländern völlig andere Suchvolumina haben, sodass eine Eins-zu-eins-Übersetzung von Keywords oftmals nicht die beste Lösung ist. Geeignete Suchbegriffe sollten daher im Vorfeld einer Übersetzung durch eine internationale Keyword-Recherche identifiziert werden.

Für ARTDECO führten die muttersprachlichen Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer daher pro Sprache eine toolbasierte Keyword-Recherche durch und ließen die abgestimmten Ergebnisse in die Übersetzungen einfließen. Für die englischen Übersetzungen wurden so zum Beispiel folgende wichtige Erkenntnisse gewonnen:

  • Das für die deutschen Texte verwendete Keyword „Business Make-up“ hat in der englischen Übersetzung („business makeup“) ein monatliches Suchvolumen von 270. Der Suchbegriff „office makeup“ wird dagegen im Monat ca. 340 Mal gesucht und ist daher als Keyword für die englische Übersetzung besser geeignet.
  • Der Suchbegriff „Tages Make-up“ wurde als „simple makeup“ (Suchvolumen: 4 100) statt „everyday makeup“ (Suchvolumen: 1 700) übersetzt, weil es ein viel höheres Suchvolumen hat und auch von der Suchintention besser passt.
  • „Urlaubs Make-up“ wurde mit „travel makeup“ (Suchvolumen: 1 000) übersetzt, weil mit dem Keyword „holiday makeup” (Suchvolumen: 1 100) in den USA eher nach Schminktipps für Feiertage gesucht wird und die Alternative „vacation makeup“ (Suchvolumen: 70) ein niedrigeres Suchvolumen als „travel makeup“ hat.

Dies sind nur einige Beispiele, wie mithilfe einer internationalen Keyword-Recherche Suchbegriffe für Übersetzungen definiert werden können, die hinsichtlich Suchintention und Suchvolumina besser passen.

Auszug aus Ergebnissen der internationalen Keyword-Recherche für ARTDECO

Mithilfe einer toolbasierten internationalen Keyword-Recherche von muttersprachlichen Übersetzer*innen wurden wichtige Erkenntnisse zu passenden Suchbegriffen gefunden.

Hochwertige SEO-Übersetzungen und schlanke Workflows

Kolibri Online stellt für ARTDECO pro Sprache ein Team aus muttersprachlichen Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern zusammen, die sich sowohl mit der Kosmetikbranche als auch mit SEO auskennen – die Qualität der Übersetzungen ist dementsprechend hoch und auf die Zielgruppe abgestimmt. Übersetzungen werden bei Kolibri Online zudem immer nach dem Vier-Augen-Prinzip angefertigt: Das bedeutet, dass eine muttersprachliche Übersetzerin oder ein muttersprachlicher Übersetzer den Text in die Zielsprache überträgt und eine zweite Muttersprachlerin oder ein zweiter Muttersprachler die Texte Korrektur liest.

Kolibri Online arbeitet bei Übersetzungsprojekten stets datenbankgestützt und wählt je nach Anforderungen der Kundin oder des Kunden dazu passende Tools aus. Für ARTDECO wurde mit der Onlineversion des CAT-Tools (Computer Assisted Translation Tool) memoQ gearbeitet. Dadurch wurden ein reibungsloses Datei-Handling und eine konsistente sowie aktuelle Terminologie gesichert. Da das Tool onlinebasiert ist, stehen immer die neuesten Einträge im Übersetzungsspeicher.

Da zum Start des Übersetzungsprojekts die optimierte deutsche Seite noch nicht online war, erhielten die Übersetzenden Zugang zu den neuen Texten in einer Staging-Umgebung. So bekamen sie ein besseres Gefühl für die Texte und konnten die Bilder zu den Texten sehen, was eine wichtige Voraussetzung für eine gelungene Übersetzung ist.

Nach dem Relaunch der Seite wurden Korrekturen von Buttons, Headlines und kurzen Teasern direkt im CMS-Backend vorgenommen – ein bewährtes Vorgehen bei Kolibri Online, um Workflows für Kund*innen möglichst schlank zu halten.

Schon gelesen?

Headerbild Kosmetikbranche
Kosmetik- und Körperpflegebranche

Hochwertige SEO-Texte und professionelle Übersetzungen für Onlineshops und Produktkataloge rund um Kosmetik und Körperpflege.

Weiterlesen …

Das Ergebnis: internationale SEO-Texte für die Kosmetikbranche

Dank einer fundierten toolbasierten Keyword-Recherche pro Sprache, standardisierten Prozessen und einem Team aus muttersprachlichen Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzern mit SEO- und Branchen-Know-how, konnten die Texte für die internationalen ARTDECO-Websites im gewünschten Timing erstellt und befüllt werden. Der Wunsch von ARTDECO, die SEO-Optimierungen der deutschen Ausgangstexte auch in den Übersetzungen zu berücksichtigen, wurde voll erfüllt. Das gesamte Projekt wird zudem von einer festen Ansprechpartnerin von Kolibri begleitet, die als wichtiger Verbindungspunkt zwischen ARTDECO und dem Übersetzungs-Team die Qualität sichert, passende Tools auswählt und das Tagesgeschäft steuert.

Sie sind auf der Suche nach einer Content-Agentur für Ihr nächstes Projekt oder Sie haben Interesse an einem SEO-Workshop? Wir freuen uns auf einen persönlichen Austausch: telefonisch unter +49 40 5247774-0, per E-Mail an info@kolibri.online oder einfach über unser Angebotsformular.

Über die Autorin

Portrait der Kolibri Redakteurin Jana Finklenburg

Jana Finklenburg
Projektmanagerin und Redakteurin
Content Marketing
+49 40 5247774-22
j.finklenburg@kolibri.online
Alle Beiträge von Jana

Kolibri Online GmbH
Bernstorffstraße 128
D-22767 Hamburg