Case study: comdirect bank AG

Applying SEO expertise and specialist financial knowledge to achieve high Google rankings

There are hundreds of blogs in Germany dedicated to finance, savings and brokerage. Users can find everything they could ever want to know on the topic, from investment tips for beginners to detailed market analyses. This makes achieving relevant visibility and high rankings in organic search results a very challenging proposition. These blogs include high-quality expert articles precisely tailored to the target audience’s search intents and the information they need. This is exactly the type of user-focused content we have produced for comdirect bank AG since 2018. In this case study, we’ll explain how we approach it.

: Screenshot of the comdirect online magazine

Services provided by Kolibri for the comdirect online magazine

  • Topic research and content audit
  • Keyword research and analysis
  • Producing briefings with appropriate SEO requirements
  • Content editing for SEO-compliant advice pieces
  • Image research
  • Creating a graphic concept & producing graphics
  • SEO review of existing content
  • Project management
  • Quality management

The company: comdirect

comdirect was founded in 1994 as a subsidiary of Commerzbank AG, and the brand has been retained since its merger with the parent company in November 2020. comdirect offers innovative and intelligent products and services that enable its customers to manage their financial affairs easily and conveniently, anywhere and at any time. As an online broker, comdirect offers smart services for saving, investing and trading securities. With solutions like cominvest (comdirect’s robo-advisor), themed investing, a wide range of securities (saving plan) services and consistently attractive offerings, comdirect targets customers new to securities as well as experienced traders.

Alongside successful podcasts and live formats, the comdirect Academy learning platform, financial education services offered in partnership with Stiftung Rechnen and the finanz-heldinnen initiative specifically aimed at women, comdirect also has an online magazine that regularly publishes articles on financial and brokerage-related topics. Editorial articles provide people new to the world of finance as well as subject experts with details of the latest stock market developments, information on digital banking and informative advice pieces. In addition, comdirect presents the comdirect finanzblog award every year.

The challenge: Combining SEO and financial expertise

The articles on comdirect’s online magazine have to live up to high professional quality standards. Pieces are written by various partners and internal comdirect experts before being reviewed by specialist departments and in-house legal experts. When the magazine was launched in 2018, content SEO was a relatively low priority and was not integrated into the magazine’s strategy or workflow. As a result, comdirect was searching for a partner agency to combine user-oriented, technically sound content with SEO expertise to supply users in the inspiration phase with carefully edited content, create trust and raise awareness of the comdirect service offering.

In addition, comdirect wanted to integrate internal links to reinforce product and topic-specific pages on the main part of its website. Its overall aim was for keywords and content to complement one another rather than causing keyword cannibalisation.

In terms of the internal approval processes, it was important to raise awareness of SEO considerations among employees in specialist and legal departments and other agency members in order to ensure that key SEO parameters were considered and implemented in review phases.

Screenshot of the comdirect online magazine

Challenges in a nutshell

  • Achieving high visibility in organic searches using hotly contested keywords in the fields of banking, investment and securities trading
  • Building an internal link structure to reinforce product and topic pages without causing cannibalisation
  • Producing technically sound SEO content aimed at users
  • Training internal specialist departments and employees at partner agencies on the topic of content SEO
  • Convince upper management of the performance and importance of high-quality SEO content

“Gaining a holistic view of the website and ensuring targeted structuring and linking of informative and product-oriented copy was a considerable challenge.”

Peer Lorenz

SEO Manager, comdirect bank AG

Yellow comdirect Logo on a grey background

comdirect bank AG

The solution: Expert financial articles geared to the target audience

Kolibri Online has been producing content for comdirect’s online magazine since 2018. Working closely with comdirect’s SEO department every month, we identify topics, draw up SEO briefings and produce informative advice pieces that convey financial knowledge. We focus on two key points: firstly, the texts and topics need to be precisely tailored to user intents; and, secondly, the magazine articles should underpin the product and topic pages on the main comdirect website. This is made possible through precise keyword analysis and internal links.

SEO-compliant financial advice pieces

Kolibri Online provides services to comdirect by working with a fixed team of internal and external content editors with deep expertise in the world of finance. All our content editors also have expertise in the field of content SEO, undergo regular training from Kolibri and receive a specific SEO briefing for each piece of copy. Kolibri produces these briefings in close coordination with comdirect’s SEO and specialist departments. We examine the SEO relevance of different topics on an ongoing basis. Kolibri conducts tool-based, data-assisted analysis to identify suitable keywords, W-questions and proof terms. We also examine search intents and analyse search results.

This makes it possible to produce specialist blog content that responds to users’ questions, answering them in a comprehensive and solution-focused manner. Supplemented with practical overviews, infographics, checklists and links, the highly informative advice pieces we produce convey knowledge of the financial world and help readers to make decisions about securities trading, wealth building and saving for later in life. The topics range from practical issues – such as “What do I need to bear in mind when refinancing?” and “How can I save money as a student?” – to more general articles on topics like mobile payment methods, impact investing and instant payments.

Kolibri is also involved in efforts to optimise the bank’s product and topic pages, including development of an internal link structure spanning the magazine, other content hubs and the comdirect website.

Screenshot from an article in the comdirect online magazine
Screenshot from an article in the comdirect online magazine

Image SEO and infographics

Financial topics can be complex and users are increasingly searching for easy-to-consume formats that allow them to identify ideas and content at a glance. Infographics are therefore an effective means of visualising processes and ideas to help readers grasp them quickly. We therefore work with our in-house graphic designers to create easy-to-understand yet content-rich infographics that reflect the comdirect corporate identity. When supplemented with suitable alt text, title tags and captions, infographics become hugely important in terms of image SEO.

We also take care of image editing for the magazine articles. This is another area in which it is important to stand out from the myriad other finance blogs online – using images that contrast with the kind used in typical banking blogs, and which therefore create a fresh, innovative impression. At the same time, however, these images obviously have to meet comdirect imagery guidelines and fit in with article topics.

Infographic from an article in comdirect’s online magazine about TAN procedures

Defined processes thanks to SEO-trained project managers

The process of creating content for financial institutions involves numerous parties – and our work for comdirect is no different. Kolibri therefore assembled a fixed project management team made up of dependable contacts to ensure processes run smoothly, managing day-to-day activities and acting as a key connecting link between all parties involved in the project. In addition, Kolibri maintains the editorial plan, monitors all deadlines and thus ensures articles are published with the desired frequency.

SEO workshop for internal knowledge development

Having numerous parties involved in a project also means numerous opinions and many different needs. The presentation of sensitive topics from the financial sector – particularly as this relates to financial education – needs to be legally and technically sound while still being understandable for lay people. When it comes to content SEO, that’s not a contradiction. After all, the primary objective of SEO content editing is to produce copy that presents topics holistically and understandably. Nevertheless, there are certain SEO elements and requirements that need to be observed and incorporated. With this in mind, to make proofreading and review processes more efficient and to develop an understanding of SEO, we held a workshop for employees of comdirect and other external partner agencies involved in the project. The aim of the workshop was the show that SEO-compliant writing and user-oriented writing are not mutually exclusive. We also used the workshop to explain:

  • how search engines actually work;
  • the objectives of search engine optimisation;
  • the guidelines and standards to bear in mind in relation to content SEO, and
  • how we conduct keyword and subject research.

We also translated the workshop outcomes into a briefing template that was reviewed and approved by comdirect’s SEO and specialist departments before copywriting work began.

Kolibri Online content editors at work

The result: Many #1 rankings and appearances in featured snippets

Efficient workflows, close and collegial collaboration with the comdirect SEO department and a well-oiled content editing team combine to ensure that informative advice pieces are published in comdirect’s online magazine on a regular basis – and achieve the desired results. The magazine’s organic search visibility continues to rise, as do its ranking positions. Evidence for this can be found in the high number of rankings on page 1 of Google’s search results. In total, magazine articles now rank at #1 in searches for 54 significant information keywords at #1-4 for 143 informative keywords (source: Sistrix, correct as of July 2020). What’s more, information from magazine articles regularly features in featured snippets and PAA boxes, which further boosts the magazine’s visibility.

After engaging intensively with comdirect’s corporate culture and product portfolio, Kolibri can also easily support the bank in other business segments. As a result, in addition to advice pieces, we also regularly produce content for comdirect Versicherungsmakler AG, for specialist magazine articles aimed at newcomers to the world of finance and for the comdirect Akademie learning platform, as well as reviewing product and topic pages.

Extract from Sistrix on interesting keyword rankings for comdirect magazine articles.

“Our close collaboration ensured a smooth and target-driven process. Combining search engine optimisation and classic copywriting made it possible to satisfy the demands of various departments (SEO, marketing, legal & specialist departments).”

Peer Lorenz

SEO Manager, comdirect bank AG

Yellow comdirect Logo on a grey background

comdirect bank AG

Are you looking for a content agency for your next project? Maybe you have questions about developing long-term content marketing strategies or how to implement high-quality, SEO-compliant online content in practice. We’d be happy to talk it over with you. Call us on +49 40 5247774-0 or email us at info@kolibri.online.

About the author

Jana Finklenburg
Project Manager and Content Marketing Editor
+49 40 5247774-22
j.finklenburg@kolibri.online

Kolibri Online GmbH
Bernstorffstrasse 128
D-22767 Hamburg

Case Study comdirect

Mit SEO-Know-how und Finanzexpertise zu hohen Google-Rankings

In Deutschland gibt es mehrere hundert Blogs zum Thema Finanzen, Sparen und Brokerage. Dabei finden Userinnen und User von Einsteigertipps für Geldanlagen bis zur detaillierten Marktanalyse alles, was sie zu den Themen wissen möchten. Eine relevante Sichtbarkeit und hohe Rankings in den organischen Suchergebnissen aufzubauen, ist daher sehr anspruchsvoll. Elementar sind dabei hochwertige Fachartikel, die genau auf Suchintention und Informationsbedarf der Zielgruppe zugeschnitten sind. Genau diesen an den Userinnen und Usern orientierten Content erstellen wir seit 2018 für die comdirect. In dieser Case Study zeigen wir, wie wir dabei vorgehen.
: Screenshot des Onlinemagazins comdirect

Leistungen von Kolibri für das comdirect Onlinemagazin

  • Themenrecherche und Content Audit
  • Keyword-Recherche und -Analyse
  • Briefingerstellung mit relevanten SEO-Vorgaben
  • Redaktion für SEO-Ratgebertexte
  • Bildrecherche
  • Grafikkonzeption und -erstellung
  • SE-Optimierung bestehender Inhalte
  • Projektmanagement
  • Qualitätsmanagement

Das Unternehmen: comdirect – eine Marke der Commerzbank AG

Comdirect wurde 1994 als Tochtergesellschaft der Commerzbank gegründet und wird seit der Verschmelzung auf die Mutter im November 2020 als Marke der Commerzbank AG fortgeführt. Ihrer Kundschaft bietet comdirect innovative und intelligente Produkte und Services, mit denen sie von jedem Ort aus und zu jeder Zeit einfach und bequem ihre Bankgeschäfte erledigen können. Als Online-Broker bietet comdirect smarte Angebote für das Sparen, Anlegen und Handeln mit Wertpapieren. Mit Lösungen wie cominvest, dem Robo-Advisor von comdirect, Motiv-Investing, einem breiten Wertpapier-(Sparplan-)Angebot und stets guten Konditionen richtet sich comdirect sowohl an Wertpapier-Einsteigende als auch an erfahrene Traderinnen und Trader.

Neben erfolgreichen Podcasts und Live-Formaten, der comdirect Akademie, Finanzbildungsangeboten in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stiftung Rechnen und einer eigenen Initiative speziell für Frauen – finanz-heldinnen – betreibt comdirect ein Onlinemagazin, in dem regelmäßig Beiträge zu Finanz- und Brokerage-Themen veröffentlicht werden. Finanzeinsteigende sowie Fachkundige finden hier redaktionelle Artikel zu aktuellen Bewegungen an den Aktienmärkten, Informationen rund um das Thema digitales Banking sowie informative Ratgebertexte. Außerdem vergibt comdirect jährlich den comdirect finanzblog award.

Die Herausforderung: SEO und Finanzfachwissen vereinen

Die Artikel im comdirect Onlinemagazin müssen einem hohen fachlichen Qualitätsanspruch gerecht werden. Die Beiträge werden von verschiedenen Partnerinnen und Partnern sowie intern von comdirect Expertinnen und Experten erstellt und von Fach- und Rechtsabteilungen geprüft. Das Thema redaktionelle SEO hatte bis zum Launch des Magazins im Jahr 2018 einen geringen Stellenwert und war in Strategie und Workflow nicht integriert. Daher suchte comdirect nach einer Partneragentur, die User*innen-orientierten und fachlich fundierten Content mit SEO-Know-how zusammenbringt und so Userinnen und User in der Inspirationsphase mit gut aufbereiteten Inhalten abholt, Vertrauen schafft und auf das Angebot von comdirect aufmerksam macht.

Zudem sollten Produkt- und Themenseiten der comdirect Website durch interne Verlinkungen gestärkt werden. Der Wunsch war, dass sich Keywords und Inhalte ergänzen, aber nicht gegenseitig durch Kannibalisierung schaden.

Für die internen Freigabeprozesse war es außerdem wichtig, Mitarbeitenden aus Fach- und Rechtsabteilungen sowie weitere Agenturmitglieder für das Thema SEO zu sensibilisieren und Wissen und Verständnis zu schaffen, damit in Korrekturschleifen wichtige SEO-Parameter beachtet und umgesetzt werden können.

Screenshot des Onlinemagazins comdirect

Herausforderungen in a nutshell

  • Hohe Sichtbarkeit in der organischen Suche zu stark umkämpften Keywords aus den Bereichen Banking, Geldanlage und Wertpapierhandel erzielen
  • Interne Linkstruktur aufbauen, um Produkt- und Themenseiten zu stärken, ohne Kannibalisierungen auszulösen
  • Content erstellen, der sich an den Userinnen und Usern orientiert, fachlich fundiert und SEO-optimiert ist
  • Interne Fachabteilungen und Mitglieder der Partneragenturen im Bereich redaktionelle SEO schulen
  • Höheres Management von der Performanz und Relevanz von hochwertigem, suchmaschinenoptimiertem Content überzeugen

„Die ganzheitliche Betrachtung der Website und die zielgerichtete Strukturierung und Verknüpfung von informativen und produktorientierten Texten war eine große Herausforderung.“

Peer Lorenz

SEO-Manager, comdirect – eine Marke der Commerzbank AG

Gelbes comdirect Logo auf grauem Grund

comdirect – eine Marke der Commerzbank AG

Die Lösung: Finanzfachartikel ganz nah an der Zielgruppe

Kolibri Online erstellt seit 2018 Content für das comdirect Onlinemagazin. Im engen Austausch mit der SEO-Abteilung identifizieren wir monatlich Themen, erarbeiten SEO-Briefings und erstellen informative Ratgeberartikel aus dem Bereich Finanzwissen. Dabei stehen zwei Punkte stark im Fokus: Die Texte und Themen sind genau auf die Intention der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer ausgerichtet und die Magazinartikel stärken die Produkt- und Themenseiten der comdirect Website durch eine genaue Analyse der Keywords und interner Verlinkungen.

SEO-Ratgebertexte über Finanzen

Kolibri Online arbeitet für comdirect mit einem festen Team aus interner und externer Fachredaktion mit hoher Expertise im Bereich Finanzen. Alle Redakteurinnen und Redakteure haben zudem Erfahrungen im Bereich redaktionelle SEO, werden von Kolibri regelmäßig geschult und erhalten pro Text spezielle SEO-Briefings, die von Kolibri in enger Abstimmung mit den SEO- und Fachabteilungen von comdirect erstellt werden. Themen werden dabei kontinuierlich auf ihre SEO-Relevanz geprüft. Dafür führt Kolibri toolbasierte und datengestützte Analysen für passende Keywords, W-Fragen und Proof Terms durch, prüft Suchintentionen und analysiert Suchergebnisse.

So entstehen fachliche Bloginhalte, die auf die Fragen der Userinnen und User eingehen und diese umfänglich sowie lösungsorientiert beantworten. Angereichert mit praktischen Übersichten, Infografiken, Checklisten und weiterführenden Links schaffen die informativen Ratgeberartikel so Wissen im Finanzbereich und helfen Lesenden bei Entscheidungen rund um den Wertpapierhandel, den Vermögensaufbau und im Bereich Vorsorge. Dabei reichen die Themen von praktischen Tipps wie „Was muss ich bei einer Umschuldung beachten?“ und „Wie kann ich als Studentin oder Student Geld sparen?“ bis zu holistischen Infoartikeln zu Themen wie „Mobile Zahlungsmethoden“, „Impact Investing“ oder „Instant Payment“.

Zudem ist Kolibri an der Optimierung der Produkt- und Themenseiten beteiligt, unter anderem durch den Aufbau einer internen Linkstruktur zwischen Magazin, weiteren Content-Hubs und der comdirect Website.

Screenshot eines Beitrag aus dem Onlinemagazin von comdirect
Screenshot eines Beitrag aus dem Onlinemagazin von comdirect

Bilder-SEO und Infografiken

Finanzthemen können komplex sein und Userinnen und User sind verstärkt auf der Suche nach einfach konsumierbaren Formaten, die Zusammenhänge und Inhalte quasi auf einen Blick erkennbar machen. Infografiken sind daher ein gutes Mittel, um Prozesse und Zusammenhänge zu visualisieren und so schnell Verständnis zu schaffen. Für comdirect entwickeln wir mit eigenen Grafikerinnen und Grafikern daher schnell erfassbare, aber dennoch gehaltvolle Infografiken in Einklang mit der Corporate Identity. Versehen mit passenden Alt- und Title-Tags sowie Bildunterschriften, sind diese auch für den Bereich Bilder-SEO von großer Bedeutung.

Zudem übernehmen wir die Bildredaktion für die Magazinartikel. Auch hier gilt es, aus der Vielzahl an Finanzblogs herauszustechen – mit Bildern, die sich vom typischen Bankenblog abheben, frisch und neu wirken. Gleichzeitig müssen sie aber natürlich zur comdirect Bildwelt passen und die Thematik der Artikel aufgreifen.

Infografik aus dem comdirect Onlinemagazin zum Thema TAN-Verfahren

Gesicherte Abläufe dank SEO-geschultem Projektmanagement

Im Bereich Content für Finanzinstitute sind zahlreiche Agierende beteiligt – das ist auch bei comdirect der Fall. Für reibungslose Abläufe sorgt daher ein festes Kolibri-Projektmanagement mit verlässlichen Ansprechpartnerinnen und Ansprechpartnern zur Steuerung des Tagesgeschäfts und als wichtiges Verbindungsglied zwischen allen am Projekt Beteiligten. Zudem pflegt Kolibri den Redaktionsplan, hat alle Deadlines im Blick und sichert so die gewünschte Veröffentlichungsfrequenz.

SEO-Workshop für internen Wissensaufbau

Viele Beteiligte bedeutet auch viele Meinungen und Bedürfnisse. Sensible Themen aus dem Finanzsektor und vor allem im Bereich Finanzbildung müssen rechtlich und fachlich einwandfrei aufbereitet und gleichzeitig für Laien verständlich sein. Für redaktionelle SEO ist das kein Widerspruch. Schließlich ist es auch bei SEO-Content das oberste Ziel, Texte zu schreiben, die Themen holistisch und verständlich darstellen. Nichtsdestotrotz gibt es bestimmte SEO-Relevanzträger und Vorgaben, die eingehalten werden müssen. Um Korrekturschleifen daher effizienter zu gestalten sowie Wissen und Verständnis für das Thema SEO aufzubauen, haben wir einen Workshop für comdirect Mitarbeitende sowie weitere externe Mitglieder von Partneragenturen durchgeführt. Workshop-Ziel: zeigen, dass sich suchmaschinenoptimiertes Schreiben und nutzerorientiertes Schreiben nicht ausschließen. Dazu haben wir unter anderem erklärt …

  • … wie Suchmaschinen eigentlich funktionieren.
  • … was die Ziele von Suchmaschinenoptimierung sind.
  • … welche Vorgaben es im Bereich redaktionelle SEO zu beachten gibt.
  • … wie wir bei der Keyword- und Themenrecherche vorgehen.

Die Ergebnisse des Workshops wurden zudem in ein Briefing-Template überführt, welches vor Texterstellung von SEO- und Fachabteilungen geprüft und freigegeben wird.

Redakteur_innen von Kolibri Online bei der Arbeit

Das Ergebnis: viele Platz-eins-Rankings und Ausspielung in Featured Snippets

Dank effizienter Workflows, einer engen und kollegialen Zusammenarbeit mit der comdirect SEO-Abteilung und einem eingespielten Redaktionsteam wird die regelmäßige Veröffentlichung von informativen Ratgebertexten im Onlinemagazin sichergestellt – mit vollem Erfolg: Die Sichtbarkeit in der organischen Suche sowie Rankingpositionen steigen kontinuierlich. Das sieht man zum Beispiel an der hohen Anzahl an Rankings auf Seite eins der Google-Suchergebnisse: Hier ranken Magazinartikel zu insgesamt 54 wichtigen informativen Keywords auf Platz eins und sogar zu 143 informativen Keywords auf den Plätzen eins bis vier (Quelle: Sistrix, Stand Juli 2020). Zudem werden Infos aus den Magazinartikeln häufig in Featured Snippets und PAA-Boxen ausgespielt und steigern damit die Sichtbarkeit zusätzlich.

Dank der intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit der Unternehmenskultur und dem Produktportfolio kann Kolibri comdirect zudem leicht in anderen Geschäftsbereichen unterstützen. Daher erstellen wir neben den Ratgeberartikeln zusätzlich regelmäßig Content für die comdirect Versicherungsmakler AG, für spezielle Magazinartikel für Finanzeinsteiger*innen sowie die comdirect Akademie und übernehmen Überarbeitungen von Produkt- und Themenseiten.

Auszug aus Sistrix zu interessanten Keyword-Rankings für comdirect Magazinbeiträge.

„Die enge Zusammenarbeit sorgt für einen reibungslosen und zielgerichteten Ablauf. Durch die Kombination von SE-Optimierung und klassischem redaktionellem Schreiben konnten die Ansprüche der verschiedenen Abteilungen (SEO, Marketing, Fach- und Rechtsabteilung) zufriedengestellt werden.“

Peer Lorenz

SEO Manager, comdirect – eine Marke der Commerzbank AG

Gelbes comdirect Logo auf grauem Grund

comdirect – eine Marke der Commerzbank AG

Sie sind auf der Suche nach einer Content-Agentur für Ihr nächstes Projekt oder haben Interesse an einem SEO-Workshop? Wir freuen uns auf einen persönlichen Austausch: telefonisch unter +49 40 5247774-0, per E-Mail an info@kolibri.online oder einfach über unser Angebotsformular.

Über die Autorin

Portrait der Kolibri Redakteurin Jana Finklenburg

Jana Finklenburg
Projektmanagerin und Redakteurin
Content Marketing
+49 40 5247774-22
j.finklenburg@kolibri.online
Alle Beiträge von Jana

Kolibri Logo

Kolibri Online GmbH
Bernstorffstraße 128
D-22767 Hamburg